2011 Goals

I haven’t made a New Year’s Resolution in years. They’re arbitrary, often unmeasurable, and usually people make it 1-12 weeks and give up. Kind of depressing.

But, recently I’ve realized how beneficial goal-setting can be. The key is to accept and understand failure, and learn from it. If you meet all of your goals, you’re not pushing yourself and not growing.

So I’m going to set goals for 2011. To push myself.

  • Project 365. Inspired by Fred, I’m going to try to be more proactive about photography, and take and share a photo every day.
  • Write at least once per week. I want to write something on this blog once a week this year. It can be personal, professional, even just the weekly update posts. Just keep writing.
  • Cook most of my food. I figure there are probably 19-21 meals per week, depending how late I sleep on Saturdays. I’d like to make 14 of them. I spend too much money on food and should really learn to cook, anyway.

These are all more or less creative pursuits: guess which part of my life I feel like I’ve been neglecting. I’ll also accept some ramp-up period with all of these, especially the cooking one.

I’m also making a couple less measurable resolutions, but I’m keeping those to myself.

Do you have any goals or resolutions for 2011?